Detox Mask Favorites: Clay, Charcoal, Peel-off Masks

Detox masks are my specialty. Detox masks are usually masks that contain either or both clay and activated charcoal. Both ingredients are known for their ability to draw out impurities; in other words clean out your pores.

I had suffered from acne and congested pores with nasty black and whiteheads as long as I can remember. Because of that I have used and tried so many ways of remedying it. Although I do prefer my own concoctions, I still use store brought mask 1) to see is there a better one and 2) for convenience. I prefer DIY because clay and activated charcoal works best right when they are mixed. It becomes less strong the longer it sits pre-made. Plus I can change what type of Clay or charcoal I am using to tailor to my own needs.

The rest of this blog post will be divided into two. My favorite detox masks for people with less problematic skin or to maintain healthy pores. The last part will by my routine when I need to do some heavy degunking!

My favorites to maintain healthy pores are Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask and Shiseido The Skincare Purifying Mask. They do not produce the stinging or painfully tightening sensations often associated with clay masks.

Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Pore Clay Mask  gently loosens any black heads I may have. But mostly I use this to maintain healthy unclogged pores. Once my skin feels slightly congested, I like to use this mask. It is super gentle and seems to soothe my skin at the same time. It also has the added benefit and reducing the inflammation of any active acne I may have. It also helps minimize the appearance of my pores and soften my skin. I literally was amazed how soft my skin feels after a clay mask. Most clay mask can be on the drying side, this is not one of them. That being said, this mask is not for those who are looking to loosen stubborn blackheads. This is a great mask for those with just some congested skin with the occasional blackhead. Or those with drier skin types who want to use a clay mask without further drying their skin. And there are those like me who uses in between other more heavy duty masks.)

Shiseido The Skincare Purifying Mask is my go to mask to use on the day of the event. I usually won’t recommend using a clay mask on the day of when you want your skin to look it’s best. BUT in case you are last minute like me, Shiseido The Skincare Purifying Mask is the perfect one to use. It helps minimizes your pores while brightening your skin. To be honest, I was not expecting much from this mask when I first noticed its texture. It is so much creamier than what I am used to. This mask does not dry at all. J even tried leaving it in longer and it was still moist. I thought It might even irritate my skin because it was so creamy. But alas I could not be even more wrong. It just overall made my skin seems more even, reduce pore size and brighten my skin. The perfect pick-me up my skin needs right before an event.

I have a 3 step detox masking for heavy duty pore cleansing. (Technically 4 step of you include the sheet mask I usually follow up with)

  1. I start off with a warming mask to open my pores. Steaming works as well. I love Lailly +36.5 Steam Pore Pack because it has that steaming effect and that is made with charcoal. It creates a nice warming effect when applied and gets warmer if activated with water.2.Clay make time! Currently I am reaching over to Scinic All Day Fine Pore Clay Mask. It is a carbonated clay mask which I think just helps with spreading. It does what a clay mask suppose to do: control sebum, tighten pores, draw out impurities (in other words loosen blackheads). I also notice my acne becomes more calm when I put this on top without over drying.

3. Peel-off mask. This is why I said this is not for the faint of heart. After all that, I like to use a peel-off mask to remove all the loosen blackheads. Since we are talking about heavy congested skin, my heaviest duty peel-off mask is hands down Elizavecca Hell-Pore Clean Up Mask.4. Optional: But I always follow up with a nice soothing sheet mask. My got-to-mask for this My Beauty Diary in Apple. My suggestion is to not try any new mask for this step and go for ones that you know would not irritate your skin. After all you just removed all that junk, you do not want to fill it up with things that do not agree with your skin!

What are your favorite ways to deep clean your pores? What is your favorite detox mask? I feel like I am always searching for something even better!

 

One thought on “Detox Mask Favorites: Clay, Charcoal, Peel-off Masks

Leave a Reply

