Review: My Beauty Diary Apple Polyphenyol Mask

imageJust for fun (and to motivate me to mask), I decided to take part of@lilchubmonkey & @vaintreasures‘s #7dayfruitmaskchallenge.

So for Day 1 I started off with one of my all-time favorite mask: My Beauty Diary Apple Polyphenol Mask.

Description: Marketed mostly for Pore Tightening with added properties of Sebum Control, Clarifying, and Brightening.

The ingredient list of the product has vary over the years. Furthermore there has been lots of observations on how US and Taiwan-native batches contains different ingredients. I have not used any US batches, all mines are from Taiwan. The one I am currently using it’s the last batch of it’s original formula. When I heard they were discontinuing this formula, I literally brought boxes and boxes of them. Sadly they all will be expiring by the end of this year so I cannot hoard them much longer.*tear*

However I have heard great things about the new formula. The mask material itself has changed to a much more formfitting material and ability to hold more moisture so you can keep the mask on longer. According to their Taiwan site, their new formula does not contain any more paraben preservatives, alcohols, mineral oils, coloring agents or fluorescent agents.Which is definitely a huge plus! That was my main concern with the old formula but only continue using because I like the effects so much.

Ingredients:water, glycerin, butylene glycol, propylene glycol, aloe barbadensis leaf juice, citrus medica limonum (lemon) peel extract, pyrus malus (apple) fruit extract, triethanolamine, nasturtium officinale leaf extract, laminaria digitata extract, fucus vesiculosus extract, gentiana lutea root extract, anrica montana flower extract, methylparaben, styrene/acrylates copolymer, dimethylsilanol hyaluronate, polysorbate 20, citric acid, sodium hyaluronate, hydrolyzed albumen, hibiscus sabdariffa flower extract, carbomer, xantham gum, fragrance, sodium hydroxide

Product: Sheet mask that is conveniently separated by pearl paper (the plastic paper).  The sheet mask is dripping with essence with enough excess to use (literally) on the whole body with extra for next time. The masks smells like mouth-watering apples or apple juice.

Review: The mask itself fits my place pretty well. It also has flaps along the forehead and chin areas making it fit better. I love the fact that this mask has so much essence! I personally hate it when I have a mask on and it dries before half an hour. I can leave this mask up to 40 minutes before it starts to feel dry. Which is perfect because that usually means one episode of Netflix hehe. Fair warning though, you may want to do a little squeeze around the “eye” “forehead” area to prevent the essence dripping to your eyes.

I personally have oily skin so there are lots of masks that are too hydrating causing me to have overly oily skin. After removing the mask, my skin feels hydrated and dewy. After about 10 minutes, my skin absorbs it and no longer feels sticky. It temporarily reduces the appearance of my pores, brighten my skin and helps soothe my active acne. It unfortunately does not prevent or reduce breakouts. The best way to describe how my skin feels about this mask is that it feels and looks more fresh. The best way for me to describe it is like when you wash your white laundry. It just becomes more vibrant and clean.

This is also an excellent mask to use right before going out because it gives you the right amount of hydration with brightening effects. I often use it before I go out when I do not want to wear any makeup (because my skin looks so fresh) or even under makeup because of its sebum control.

To break it down: Brightening effect: 8/10, Pore tightening (temporarily) 6/10, Clarifying 4/10,  Sebum control 5/10.

Where to buy : Luckily over the years this Brand became much more popular and easier to obtain. Years back, I had to either get if from Asian beauty stores or overseas with crazy shipping costs.Now you can buy a pack of 10 from Amazon ($16.02)and even Target ($12.99 online only) at very affordable prices. I would highly recommend only buying from reputable sites because there were cases of fake masks on the market.

 

 

Leave a Reply

