Review: Hydrogel Eye Patches Comparison

image

I admit it. I am a Korean skin care fanatic. If it sounds weird or has weird ingredients, I must try it. Out of all the crazy products, one of my biggest obsessions is hydrogel eye patches. They are essentially facial sheet masks but only for the eyes. I am in my late 20s so I do not have major problems with wrinkles yet (just one fine line under each eye and smiley eyes wrinkles) but on some days I get some serious dark circles, puffiness or just very shallow looking bags. Whenever that happens I just pop some on while getting ready and sometimes even when I am in the car and I am good to go. I really like putting them in the fridge especially on days I can barely get out of bed. They are my version of morning coffee, but it actually makes me look better.

So of course I tried many different ones. So bear with me this is going to be a long post!

Petitfee Gold EGF Eye & Spot Patch

image

Ingredients: Gold Powder Extract, Aloe Vera Leaf Extract, Ginseng Extract, Caviar Extract, Green Tea Extract

Packaging: This comes in a round plastic tub of 60 eye patches and 30 spot patches.

image

Product: This particular eye patch is in a different shape than the other ones. It comes in a symmetrical half circle shape with the inside circle as the spot patch. When I first open the jar I thought I was looking at a gold pokeball lol. Because of its shape, it’s not the best product for people who have larger or less round eyes. My Asian eyes are small and round so these fit me perfectly. But it did not fit my boyfriend’s eyes at all. The outer circle measures approx 7 cm, inner circle is 2.8cm

It has a strong perfume scent that leaves after you remove the product. Like the other eye patches, it is made of hydrogel and remains very moist for about 30 minutes. And it is super super pretty! You can see all the gold specks in it. This one is a bit tingly on. More of a blood rushing into the area kind of tingle rather than a burn. Afterwards it leaves my eyes fairly plump and brighter. Dark circles are not completely gone.

I love the fact that it comes with a spot patch. I often furrow my brows together so that is my most problematic wrinkled area. I’m glad I don’t have to waste an eye patch just to get some love in that area.

Where to buy: Memebox Amazon

 

Petitfee Black Pearl and Gold Hydrogel Eye Patch

image

Ingredients:  Black Pearl Powder Extract, Gold Powder Extract, Green Tea Extract, Mugwort Extract, Tangerine Seed Extract, Lycopodium Annotin

Packaging: The product comes in a hard plastic round tub containing 60 patches.

image

Product: These patches are what I like to call “ghost shaped”. The kind of ghosts we use to draw when we were 5 haha. Anyways it comes in a dark gray hydrogel with gold specks in it. They are so luxurious looking!

These patches also have a strong perfume scent similar to the Gold EGF patches. They also feel a bit tingling. To be honest I do like the tingling feeling, makes me feel like they are stimulating the anti-aging properties they promise. I also leave these on for about 30 minutes as well. I like these patches more than their Gold & EGF ones. They make my dark circles less apparent and feel just a tad bit more hydrated. It is enough to make that one fine line disappear for a bit. Also because of its shape, it covers more area around the eye, especially where crow’s feet can appear.

Where to buy: Memebox Amazon

Botanic Farm Salmon Egg Hydrogel Eye Patch

image

Ingredients:  Salmon Egg Extract, Sea Grape Extract, Seaweed Extract, Snail Slime Filtrate, Aloe Vera Leaf Extract, Colloidal Gold

Packaging: The patches come in a matte gold hard plastic tub. 60 patches total.

image

Product: These are also in the standard “ghost” shaped hydrogel. They are orange in color and have a softer scent than the Petitfee brand. If it’s every possible to have pleasant smelling fish perfume, this is how this smells. These salmon beauties are very good at hydrating. These did not have any tingling feeling at all. I like using these on those days I really need a pick me up. My dark circles tend to be very sallow and dehydrated. These hydrate my bags very well. I accidentally went to sleep with this on one night and woke up with a puffy eyelid. While sleeping the hydrogel moved and went onto my eyelid. So instead of waking up with hydrated under eyes, I woke up with an overhydrated eyelid. However the darkness of my bags remained about the same.

Where to buy: Memebox

SNP Bird’s Nest Aqua Eye Patch

image

Ingredients: Swiftlet Nest Extract (1000mg), Cabbage Rose Extract, Aloe Vera Leaf Extract, Citrus Extract, Hyaluronic Acid

Packaging: These patches come in a blue hard plastic tub. 60 Patches

image

Product: These are in the standard “ghost” shape. These hydrogels are pale blue. I brought this product because I am absolutely in love with their bird nest revital cream. This product is also very hydrating. After using these lovelies, my bags show no signs of being dehydrated 30 minutes before. The hydration seems to last the longest after using these patches. Which is interesting because of all of the patches I tried, this came with the least amount of excess essence, in fact I barely see any.

where to buy: Memebox Amazon

Diaforce Gold Hydro-gel Eye Patch

image

Ingredients: Gold, diamond, mineral water, pearl powder, caviar extract, collagen, aloe vera, rose extracts, green tea, mixed seaweeds

Packaging: These patches come in a large gold plastic tub. I like the fact that it has a plastic inner lid that further keeps the product fresher and separates the product and the scoop it comes with.

image

Product: Out of all the eye patches I have tried, these are the largest. They measure approximately 8.5 cm long. On my small face, they actually can cover most of my cheeks and into the crow’s feet area! They also are in the infamous “ghost shape”. They are also very hydrating. I did not see a difference in my dark circles, but my whole cheek to area was very hydrated and bouncy. Out of all the patches I have tried, this included the most excess essence. The patches were swimming in it!

However I CANNOT STAND THE SMELL! I don’t know if it turned when I got it (I received it on a really hot day); it smells exactly like spoiled food! As great as this product is, I gave it to my boyfriend to use. He uses on his psoriasis patches and it softens and soothes it.

Where to buy: Memebox

Eye Hydrogel Patch Comparison

Petitfee Gold & EGF Petitfee Black Pearl & Gold Botanic Farm Salmon Egg SNP Bird Nest Diaforce Gold
Ingredients Gold Powder Extract, Aloe Vera Leaf Extract, Ginseng Extract, Caviar Extract, Green Tea Extract Black Pearl Powder Extract, Gold Powder Extract, Green Tea Extract, Mugwort Extract, Tangerine Seed Extract, Lycopodium Annotin Salmon Egg Extract, Sea Grape Extract, Seaweed Extract, Snail Slime Filtrate, Aloe Vera Leaf Extract, Colloidal Gold Swiftlet Nest Extract (1000mg), Cabbage Rose Extract, Aloe Vera Leaf Extract, Citrus Extract, Hyaluronic Acid Gold, diamond, mineral water, pearl powder, caviar extract, collagen, aloe vera, rose extracts, green tea, mixed seaweeds
Pros -hydrating, helps with fine lines

-contains spot patches

-hydrating, helps with fine lines better than gold version

-helps with dark color under eyes

-contains more blood stimulating products

-most hydrating

-contains my favorite ingredient: snail slime

-hydration lasts the longest

-feels most soothing

-largest hydrogel, can cover cheek area
Cons -shape is not good for larger eyes

-tingling, some people may not like this

-strong scent, I find the scent pleasant but strong

-tingling, some people may not like this

-also strong scent

-does not help with darkness of circles -came with least amount of excess essence

-does not help with dark color under eyes

-smell!! I could not stand using it more than once

 

Final notes:

I feel the Petitfee hydrogels are better as nighttime treatments. Whenever I use stronger anti-aging products my skin gets all tingly and that’s the same feeling I get with these hydrogels. (Don’t worry it’s not an allergic reaction, I know how those are!) They just have more stimulating properties. The SNP Bird Nest and Botanic Farm Salmon Egg hydrogels are my go-to morning pick-me-ups. They work well in hydrating my sunken eye bags and make me look and feel more awake. I feel like these products work best if refrigerated. Plus they last longer!

Overall these eye patches are very versatile; you can also use them on other problematic areas such as your laughing lines around the mouth, foreheads, etc.

Let me know how you like these comparison reviews! Are they too long? Would you rather I review each product individually? Let me know in the comments below!

 

*If you are new to Memebox and purchase thru my referral link you can get 20% off your 1st purchase of $25 or more: http://share.memebox.com/x/B3oPs0

[This post include affiliated links. All items were purchased by me.]

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Review: Hydrogel Eye Patches Comparison

    1. Thanks! Your comment means a lot! ❤ I really enjoyed doing this comparison post and look forward to doing more. Anything you are interested in? I am open to any suggestions! The SNP and Botanic Farm are life saviors so I highly recommend them 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I’d love to see your thoughts on the Shara Shara Hinoki Spa Cream! I’ve taken it in and out of my cart a few times but have never taken the plunge but that packaging is right up my alley.

        Definitely getting the Botanic Farm patches in my next memebox order!

        Like

      2. So funny. I am actually trying that right now. 😁 I’m hoping my next comparison post is winter creams. So far it’s doing well in comparison to the other creams. 😉 I visited your blog after commenting last time and your blog is amazing! Your post are so informative and fun to read. 💕

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Good to hear! I’m always in search of new creams even though I have so many. 😅😅 Also you’re so sweet!!! That comment totally made my day!!

        Like

Leave a Reply

