DIY: Holiday Countdown- Mini Tree Decor

image

3 days until Christmas!

I don’t know about you, but Holiday season is always crazy busy for me. Between work, family, friends, and holiday functions, my schedule is filled to the brim. I really do not have time to plan extravagant decorations or brave the swarm of people to buy gifts. For those Holiday procrastinator or last-minute surprises out there, these couple of posts before Christmas will be perfect for you.

Let’s start with Miniature Tree Decorations.

I wanted a Christmas tree but I couldn’t get a real tree because 1) I am allergic to pine 2) I don’t have room for a tree that is as tall as me.

I weighed in all my options and decided to get a cute sparkly little table top tree. But holy crap, there is no cute or unique ornaments for mini trees! The only things I found useful were: those plain ball ornaments and holiday wine glass charms. The wine glass charms are really a hit or miss. So let’s focus on making our own! Plus it’s practically Christmas and you can find ball ornaments anywhere.

image

Decorating Ball Ornaments

You will need:

  • Paint (I just used fabric paint but acrylic or glass paints would work)
  • Decorations (glitter, rhinestones, stickers, googly eyes, the possibilities are endless)
  • Glue
  • Ball ornaments (I got mines in the dollar section at Target)
  1. Prep: Clean the ball ornaments with alcohol
  2. The fun part: Decorate
    • I kept mines simple. Here I just use fabric paint and drew hello kitty, snowman, swirls,and polka dots.
    • If you want more bold decorations gluing rhinestones,sequins, googly eyes, the possibilities are endless.
  3. Finishing touches
    • String lights, I used copper fairy lights
    • Large flowers, I used fake flowers.
    • Garlands
  4. Special notes: My approach to draw on the ornaments is more subtle. Gluing decorations would definitely make your ornaments more special. My dearest kitten keeps thinking they are food so I had to go with the simpler approach. *sigh*

Hope you had fun!!

image

2 thoughts on “DIY: Holiday Countdown- Mini Tree Decor

    1. Thank you! You can do it this year. Hence last-minute DIYs hehe. It literally only takes minutes minus the drying time 🙂 Thanks for stopping by! Come back soon to check out the other DIYs!

      Like

Leave a Reply

